Your virtual box seat to New England's professional sports & live concerts.




at BB&T Ballpark in Charlotte, NC 7:00 pm

Omaha RHP Christian Binford (0-0, 0.00)/(0-1 5.40) vs. Pawtucket LHP Edwin Escobar (1-0, 1.72)/(0-2, 4.28)

International League Champions vs. Pacific Coast League Champions – The 2014 Governors’ Cup Champion Pawtucket Red Sox of the International League face the 2014 Pacific Coast League Champion Omaha Storm Chasers (Triple-A affiliate of the Kansas City Royals) in the Gildan Triple-A National Championship Game on Tuesday night at 7:00 pm at BB&T Ballpark in uptown Charlotte, NC (televised live on the NBC Sports Network). Pawtucket will be the home team thanks to the IL defeating the PCL in the Triple-A All-Star Game, 7-3 back on July 14 in Durham, NC.

Triple-A National Championship – This winner-take-all one game championship between the champs of the two Triple-A leagues began in 2006 as the Bricktown Showdown. From its inception through 2010, the Championship was hosted in Oklahoma City. In 2011, Triple-A Baseball began a new tradition of rotating game sites as the 2011 game was held in Albuquerque, NM. In 2012, for the first time, an International League city hosted the game as Durham Bulls Athletic Park was the site with the 2012 Governors’ Cup Champion PawSox losing that game to the Reno Aces, 10-3. The game added a national sponsor for the first time in 2012 as Gildan, one of the world’s leading suppliers of t-shirts, activewear, underwear, and socks, has now been the Title Sponsor for the last three Gildan Triple-A Baseball National Championship Games (2012-2014).

Triple-A National Championship Results – The Pacific Coast League won the first three Triple-A Baseball National Championship Games. The International League won the next three but the PCL has regained the all-time lead by winning each of the last two games. The results…

2006​Tucson Sidewinders 5​Toledo Mud Hens 2​in Oklahoma City
2007​Sacramento River Cats 7​Richmond Braves 1​in Oklahoma City
2008​Sacramento River Cats 4​Scranton/Wilkes-Barre Yankees 1​in Oklahoma City
2009​Durham Bulls 5​Memphis Redbirds 4 (11 innings)​in Oklahoma City
2010​Columbus Clippers 12​Tacoma Rainiers 6​in Oklahoma City
2011​Columbus Clippers 8​Omaha Storm Chasers 3​in Albuquerque
2012​Reno Aces 10​Pawtucket Red Sox 3​in Durham
2013​Omaha Storm Chasers 2​Durham Bulls 1​in Lehigh Valley

History Making – Last Saturday September 13th, the Pawtucket Red Sox captured their second Governors’ Cup in three years (and their second in 30 years for that matter) when they defeated the host Durham Bulls, 4-1 to take the 82nd Annual Governors’ Cup Finals championship series, 3 games to 2. Pawtucket also won the Governors’ Cup in 2012 when they swept Charlotte in 3 straight, but they lost the Gildan Triple-A Baseball National Championship Game to Reno that year. Prior to their 2012 championship, the PawSox had last won the Governors’ Cup in 1984 when they beat the Maine Guides, 3-0 in the decisive 5th game of that series. Their only other Cup Championship before that came in 1973.

Good Time to Get Hot – Pawtucket is 6-2 in the post-season having swept Syracuse in three straight to win their semi-final series and then winning three of five in the Governors’ Cup Finals vs. Durham.


Comments are closed.